Screen shot 2016-03-29 at 8.31.46 PMWelcome to my website!

My name is Leslee Anne Hewson. I was born in Melbourne, Victoria, in the dark ages, well that’s not entirely true, but definitely before the age of computers. My family travelled a lot, mostly up and down the eastern coast of Australia, for about five years because of my dad’s work. And no, we were not gypsies, although we did live in a caravan.

Hence, my first schooling lessons were by correspondence and I began school, as most kids know it, when I was seven and a half years old. I remember being petrified of the headmaster at Ascot Vale State School. When he asked me to read, I just looked at him. No words came forth. Of course, I could read but he didn’t know that. I was put in Grade 1 with all the five year olds. My brother, Gordon, started school the same day. He was put in the other Grade 1 class. No, we were not twins. He started school aged five like the rest of the kids.

Screen shot 2016-03-29 at 9.17.05 PMWe later moved to Queensland where we stayed a few years before moving again at eleven years of age to Christchurch and then on to Auckland, New Zealand. The three-day voyage on the SS Australis, a Greek ship, was a huge life change for me and I’ve never forgotten the sense of adventure that trip inspired. I still have the Greek dolls my parents bought for me on the ship.

I studied commerce and became a stenographer, a fancy word for shorthand typist, which held me in good stead as I worked and lived and travelled all over the world. Travelling is one of my favourite things. Skiing is up there too. Which of course, if you want to ski and live in Queensland as I do, involves my first favourite thing, travelling. I also love to read, and write, and create.

In London, Dublin, and Amsterdam I worked as a stenographer. In Ibiza I worked as a tour guide. In Queenstown I worked as a farm hand, and had another job as a kitchen hand. I only have two hands by the way. This is where I learnt to cook. Just joking, I peeled a lot of potatoes and washed a lot of dishes!

I have always enjoyed writing. My lovely secondary school teacher, Mrs Williams, used to read my stories out to the rest of the class, much to my embarrassment at the time. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I was drawn back to the love of writing. I joined writers’ groups and organisations, and attended writing courses and workshops.

I’m married to a scientist, Greg, and have three adult children, Aimee, Gray and Eloise. We have a male cat, Cuddles, who is ten years old and for thirteen years we had Jess, our border collie, and the main character in six of my picture book stories yet to be published. My 94 year old mother, Pamela, also lives with us.

MY ARTIST STATEMENT

“The world is your oyster…” a quote from Shakespeare’s The Merry Wives of Windsor.

Through my stories I hope to pass on what I believe to be the meaning of this quote. To achieve anything you wish in life or to go anywhere you want because you have the chance or ability to do so. It’s up to you to follow your dream.

MEMBERSHIP

SCBWI http://www.scbwi.org

QWC http://www.qwc.asn.au

Carindale Writers’ Group http://www.carindalewritersgroup.org

Write Links http://www.brisbanewritelinks.com

Book Links (Qld) Inc http://booklinks.org.au

The Last Tuesday Children’s Book Club http://booklinks.org.au/events-2/894-2

 

Advertisements